top of page

Get Ahead with these Fresh Helmets

Updated: Feb 26, 2020


Now that I am back in the states and riding again, I've had to pull my riding gear out of storage. While I was unpacking, I realized that I have had my original helmet, a Shoei GT-Air, for almost four years! I got into one minor scrape in said helmet and was wondering how much longer I should use it before it is deemed "unsafe". I say unsafe because helmets start to degrade due to glues, resins and other materials wearing down and just the normal wear and tear of a helmet from oils, fuels, paints, fumes associated with riding. Also, materials and safety features improve every few years so an upgrade is in our best interest.


After doing some research, it is advised to replace your helmet every 3-5 years, depending on make and your upkeep of the helmet. So it seems like it's the perfect time for a new helmet! However, I am interested in purchasing another retro style helmet since I do much more city riding these days.


If you too are in the market for a fresh helmet, here are a few that caught my eye and meet safety standards. The helmets below provide a nice range of color options, fits and prices for retro style helmets.





3. Les Ateliers Ruby $1423 (A European helmet company and a pricier option)


4. Biltwell Gringo S $199.95 - $229.95



6. DMD Rocket $266.95 (On Sale - Price varies by color)


7. Bell Bullitt $399.95



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page