top of page

It's Been AWHILE...

Updated: Feb 26, 2020



Do you ever just stop riding? It starts with you moving around a bit and having your bike packed up and moved around, then you are actually moving and you place it in the garage so you can focus on unpacking and then 3 months have gone by, it's 100 degrees outside and you're so busy that you don't want to deal with getting it out, getting your gear and sweating on your way to a major meeting? Well that finally happened to me, and I feel like a fraud!


I am going through a bit of imposter syndrome as I write this. I started this motozine/blog to write all the lessons I have been learning about motorcycles, the culture, the technical aspects, the wardrobe, safety, etc. and I haven't been motorcycling for at least 3 months. So I am back, getting back on the metaphorical horse. I am willing myself to ignore all the reasons not to ride my motorcycle - heat, time, personal presentation - and pulling out my hot weather gear (more on this next post). Also, I desperately need to go get a tune up and have been pushing that back so another reason I have been cheating myself and not riding. I really should be ashamed... excuses, excuses.


While I am dreading sweating profusely, I am certain that the minute I get back on that bike I am going to have that same excitement spark in my chest, causing a wry smile to break out under the safety of my helmet and feel like I am where I not need, but want to be. It's like going back to camp, you've gotten so comfortable with your home life you don't want to change it up, scared of leaving the ease of your routine days in a familiar place. You go back, there's an electric energy in the air, you have butterflies, maybe it's excitement, maybe some nerves, and then you see your friends and you know this is where you want to be sweating all summer.


So here I go, back to the wet hot days at summer camp, on the back of Nero.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page